Upcoming Events

Mark your calendars for these upcoming Dance/USA professional development events.
June 7, 2022 Information Session with the National Endowment for the Arts about Grants for Arts Projects
Virtual Session on June 7, 2pm-3pm ET/1pm-2pm CT/12pm-1pm MT/11am-12pm PT

The National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) Dance Arts Staff will present an overview of the funding category Grants for Arts Projects, share tips for applicants to submit a competitive Dance application, and conduct a Q&A session.

Speakers: Sara Nash, NEA Dance Director, and Kate Folsom, NEA Dance Specialist
Cost: FREE
Open to all regardless of Dance/USA membership status.

Learn more about Grants for Arts Projects here.

REGISTER HERE!
July 12, 2022 Dance Business Bootcamp: Intentional Content Creation with Limited Resources
Virtual Workshop on July 12, 2pm-4pm ET/1pm-3pm CT/12pm-2pm MT/11am-1pm PT

The pandemic has changed the world, our perspectives, and consumer behavior. If you plan to create content like it’s 2019, you’ll be left in the dust. In 2022, it’s all about intentional content creation.

Capacity Interactive will lead an interactive workshop to help you become an intentional and nimble content creator with limited resources. You’ll learn how to define your values and get to know your audience on a deeper level. You’ll also get big-picture advice on creating sustainable and engaging content across platforms that influence ticket-buying decisions and tactical tips to stay ahead of the curve without tirelessly chasing trends. At the end of the workshop, you’ll walk away with actionable next steps to create content that will help you build trust, increase brand awareness, and drive revenue.

Facilitators: Capacity Interactive’s Krisi Packer, Director, Marketing and Content and Lauren Tooley, Analyst, Digital Marketing
Cost: $25
Open to all regardless of Dance/USA membership status, but space is limited.

Dance Business Bootcamp is intended for smaller organizations and independent artists with budgets below $200,000.

REGISTER HERE!
August 17-19, 2022 Dance/USA Connect: Denver
In-Person Convening in Denver, CO
Join us in the breathtaking "Mile High City" surrounded by gorgeous mountain views for a convening grounded in archiving and preservation. Programming will include sessions about building, maintaining, and animating dance archives; succession planning; safeguarding organizational legacy; and opportunities for one-on-one consultations with archivists. More information about programming is coming soon!

Open to all regardless of Dance/USA membership status.

Learn more and register HERE!
September 12, 2022 Forum on the November 2022 Elections and Supporting the Dance Community
Virtual Forum on September 12, 1pm-2pm ET/12pm-1pm CT/11am-12pm MT/10am-11am PT

Dance/USA will host a forum to discuss the importance of voter registration and get-out-the-vote (GOTV) efforts for the November 2022 elections. The forum will also include a discussion concerning legislation that needs to be passed by Congress by the end of the year to support the dance community and overall arts and cultural sector. This will be an opportunity for the dance community to update members of Congress about how the current pandemic is adversely impacting the dance ecosystem, especially individual dance artists.

Participants will include members and/or their staff from the Congressional Arts Caucus, Congressional STEAM Caucus, and Senate Cultural Caucus.

Cost: FREE
Open to Dance/USA members only.
October 6-7, 2022 Race Equity Series: Allyship Training
Virtual Trainings on October 6-7, 1pm-4pm ET/12pm-3pm CT/11am-2pm MT/10am-1pm PT

Join us for a two-day virtual Allyship Training facilitated by Service Never Sleeps. This workshop is designed to train community members to be bridge-building allies who promote social justice as a way of life.

Total cost for the two-day training is $60 per person. Trainings are open to all regardless of Dance/USA membership status but space is limited.

About Service Never Sleeps
Service Never Sleeps is a Black-led organization building a socially just world by catalyzing individual action to advance racial and social justice through Allyship & skills-based service. For more information about the organization, please visit serviceneversleeps.org.
November 1-2, 2022 Race Equity Series: White Supremacy 101, Bias & Microaggressions
Virtual Trainings on November 1-2, 1pm-4pm ET/12pm-3pm CT/11am-2pm MT/10am-1pm PT

Join us for the next module in the Race Equity Series, facilitated by Service Never Sleeps: White Supremacy 101 and Bias & Microaggressions. These trainings provide an understanding of Allyship principles and locate anti-Blackness and white supremacy in both current and historical contexts.

Total cost for both trainings is $60 per person. Trainings are open to individuals who have completed the Allyship Training. Space is limited.

About Service Never Sleeps
Service Never Sleeps is a Black-led organization building a socially just world by catalyzing individual action to advance racial and social justice through Allyship & skills-based service. For more information about the organization, please visit serviceneversleeps.org.
June 13-16, 2023 Dance/USA Annual Conference
In-Person Convening in Atlanta, GA
Open to all regardless of Dance/USA membership status.

Schedule and programming is subject to change. Check back for new information about speakers and sessions! If you have any questions about Dance/USA programming and events, please contact us here