PRESS RELEASE: Dance/USA to Celebrate the 2015 Honorees in Miami Wednesday, June 17, 2015 at the Opening Night Celebration

May 18, 2015

Contact: Johanna Tschebull

Washington, DC – Dance/USA, the national association for professional dance, will recognize the 2015 Dance/USA Honorees on Wednesday, June 17, 2015 at the Opening Night Celebration, which kicks off the 2015 Dance/USA Annual Conference in Miami, FL. If you are a member of the press and would like to attend the 2015 Annual Conference, e-mail Dance/USA here.

The 2015 Dance/USA Honorees are:

  • Toby Lerner Ansin, founder, Miami City Ballet, the Dance/USA Champion Awardee.
  • Linda Shelton, executive director, The Joyce Theater Foundation, the Dance/USA Ernie Awardee.
  • Trisha Brown, founding artistic director and choreographer, Trisha Brown Dance Company, the Dance/USA Honor Awardee.
  • Raven Wilkinson, whose talent and skill enabled her to become the first African American woman to break the color line and dance with a major classical ballet company, the Dance/USA Trustees Awardee.

The 2015 Opening Night Celebration will take place Wednesday, June 17, 2015 from 6:30pm – 10:00pm at the Pérez Art Museum Miami. The festivities will include cocktails, museum tours, a site-specific performance, dinner, and the celebration of the 2015 Honorees. Festive attire is recommended.

The Opening Night Celebration is sponsored in part by DeWitt Stern. The 2015 Dance/USA Trustees Award is exclusively sponsored by Freed of London.

About the Dance/USA 2015 Annual Conference
Dance/USA will host its 7th Annual Conference in Miami, FL from Wednesday, June 17 through Saturday, June 20, 2015. Nearly 500 individuals will convene in Miami for the country’s broadest gathering of dance professionals, including executive directors, artistic directors, development directors, agents, artists, emerging arts leaders, company managers, marketing directors, dance service organizations, and more. Key topics at the Conference include the following: financing dance, technological change, equity and inclusion, and social responsibility.

Register as a Member of the Press
To register for the Dance/USA Annual Conference contact Dance/USA Communications Specialist Johanna Tschebull here.

About Dance/USA

We believe that dance is essential to a healthy society, demonstrating the infinite possibilities for human expression and potential, and facilitating communication within and across cultures.

Dance/USA is the national service organization for the professional dance field. Established in 1982, Dance/USA serves a diverse national membership of dance groups working in the genres of aerial, ballet, contemporary, culturally-specific, hip-hop, ice, international, jazz, liturgical, single-choreographer, and tap, dance presenters, dance service organizations, dance agents, dance educators, independent dancers, freelance choreographers, students of arts administration and/or dance and business in service to dance, and individuals related to the field. Learn more about Dance/USA by visiting our website,

Dance/USA is grateful to its 2015 Annual Conference funders: the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation and the Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs and the Cultural Affairs Council, the Miami-Dade County Mayor, and Board of County Commissioners. Additional thanks to 2015 Annual Conference sponsors: Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts of Miami-Dade County, Miami City Ballet, New World Center, Pérez Art Museum Miami, and Stephen Starr Events, Host Partners; DeWitt Stern Group, Gold Sponsor; American Harlequin Corporation and Freed of London, Silver Sponsors; Arctic Wines, Arts Consulting Group, Beso Del Sol Sangria, Capacity Interactive, Gaynor Minden, InstantEncore, Lyon + Lyon (Lyon Frères Petit Marché), Ovation TV, Patron Technology, Tessitura, and Vivian’s Petals, Bronze Sponsors; and Cloud Nine, the Greater Miami Convention & Visitors Bureau, and Lee & Marie’s Cakery, Welcome Sponsors.

Dance/USA is also grateful for its ongoing funders: The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, Capezio/Ballet Makers Dance Foundation, Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, The Harkness Foundation for Dance, National Endowment for the Arts, and The Shubert Foundation.

Skip to content