2020 Call for Award Nominations

Thank you for your submissions! The Call for Nominations is now closed.

Join us in celebrating the contributions and achievements of extraordinary leaders in the dance field. The Honor and 'Ernie' awards recognize an individual’s contributions to dance in America and their role in the national dance community and global dance field. The awards will be presented during the Opening Night Celebration at the 2020 Annual Conference in Denver, CO June 17-20, 2020. 

Dance/USA Honor Award

The Honor Award is given to an individual for demonstrated achievements across the national dance field, extraordinary leadership, and exceptional contributions which consistently reflect a high level of artistic excellence, creative force of vision, and breadth of work.

1986  Antony Tudor and Martha Graham

 2009  Tina Ramirez

1988  Robert Joffrey and Merce Cunningham

 2010  Carmen de Lavallade

1990  Agnes de Mille, Paul Taylor and Alvin Ailey

 2011  Lar Lubovitch 

1992  Katherine Dunham and Bella Lewitzky

 2012  Helgi Tomasson

1994  Alexandra Danilova and Charles Reinhart

 2013  Joan Myers Brown

1996  Willam Christensen and Donald McKayle

 2014  Liz Lerman

1998  Judith Jamison and Bruce Marks

 2015  Trisha Brown

2000  Jeraldyne Blunden and David R. White

 2016  Jawole Willa Jo Zollar

2002  Chuck Davis

 2017 Cleo Parker Robinson

2004  Arthur Mitchell

 2018 Debbie Allen

2006  Anna Halprin

 2019 Dianne McIntyre

2008 Frederic Franklin

Dance/USA ‘Ernie’ Award

Named after the first recipient, The ‘Ernie’ Award is given to an individual working “behind the scenes” within the infrastructure of the national dance field, who has demonstrated extraordinary leadership, outstanding value in the field, and whose achievements have influenced and significantly advanced the work of artists and supported their creativity.

1990  Ian ‘Ernie’ Horvath

2010  Richard J. Caples

1992  Richard E. LeBlond Jr.

2011  Verdery Roosevelt

1994  Martha Hill Davies and Bessie Schonberg

2012  Sam Miller

1996  Barbara Horgan and Ivan Sygoda

2013  Barbara Weisberger

1998  Deborah Jowitt

2014  D. David Brown

2000  Norton Owen and John R. Killacky

2015  Linda Shelton

2002  Cora Cahan

2016  Ann Williams

2004  Sage Cowles

2017 Gina Gibney

2006  Madeleine Nichols

2018 Carla Perlo

 2008  Anna Kisselgoff

2019 Glenn McCoy

2009 Sali Ann Kriegsman

Dance/USA is committed to honoring, nurturing and advancing dance through the lens of equity, inclusion, and equal opportunity in all aspects of its programming, services, and organization

  • Our Mission:  Dance/USA champions an inclusive and equitable dance field by leading, convening, advocating, and supporting individuals and organizations.  Dance/USA’s core programs are focused in the areas of engagement, advocacy, research, and preservation. 
  • Our Vision:  Propelled by our belief that dance can inspire a more just and humane world, Dance/USA will amplify the power of dance to inform and inspire a nation where creativity and the field thrive. 
  • Our Values:  Dance/USA’s core values are Connectivity, Creativity, Equity, and IntegrityRead more about our core values here.

If you have any questions please contact us at AnnualConference@danceusa.org